Houston

I drove past the Sam Houston schoolhouse on the way to the airport, thinking that it took Sam probably a whole lot longer to get to Texas than it’s going to take me today to get to a city named for him. I figure my flight is 5 hours total, and I’m going to North Carolina on the way.  I figure it took him a smidge longer, especially because he stopped in Arkansas for a bit.

Sam Houston was born in Virginia, so you already know he was a great person. Plus, the name Sam is just awesome. I’d vote for a Sam. I’d buy a used car from a Sam. It’s a good solid name. Sam moved to Tennessee and lived among the Cherokee. He was governor of TN, and moved eventually to Texas where he led the Texas Revolution and eventually supported becoming part of the US. When he became governor of Texas, he was and is the only person to ever be governors of two US states.

So here’s to Sam.

About rennawarren

I've won a spot for the STS-135 NASA Tweetup. I'm going to try to document the experience.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

